Whey protein is a byproduct of cheese making. When milk is boiled, lemon is added and the water which is found is known as whey. We cannot drink that water directly as it will not be digested easily. The water is then processed and made in powder form and digestive enzymes are added so that it gets digested easily. Let us find out Is Whey Gluten-Free or not.
Whey protein powder is made from milk and does not contain gluten. However, people who are lactose intolerant should not add raw whey protein as it does not contain digestive enzymes.
Although, all whey protein powder has one ingredient common in them which is whey. Some brands add artificial flavors to enhance the taste and make it different from other brands.
However, whey protein powders are mostly sold in three forms: whey protein isolate, concentrate and hydrolyzed.
But, some of the whey protein powders do contain some amount of gluten. We should check the nutrition information and ingredient list before purchasing.
Types Of Whey
Whey Protein Concentrate
Whey Protein Concentrate is one of the most efficient, most popular, and one of the most economical whey protein. It is digested slowly but the protein is supplied to the muscles evenly.
Whey Protein Isolate
Whey Protein Isolate contains around 80% protein content whereas, Whey Protein Isolate contains around 90%. It is digested faster than concentrate.
Whey Protein Hydrolyzed
The amino acids present in it gets digested very quickly and so it is one of the most expensive whey protein supplement.
Gluten-Free Protein Powders
- Optimum Nutrition – Gold Standard Whey
- Isopure – Gluten-Free, Zero-Carb Whey Protein Isolate
- Isopure Infusions – Light, Fruity Whey Protein Isolate
- PlantFusion – Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Protein Powder
- Vega – Soy-Free Plant-Based Protein & Greens
- RSP TrueFit – Gluten-Free Meal Replacement Shake
- Gluten-Free Collagen Peptides
- Legion – Gluten-Free Whey+ Protein
- Naked Whey – Pure, Unflavored Whey Protein
- KOS – Organic, Vegan Protein Blend
- Perfect Keto – Grass-Fed Collagen Peptides
Some Ingredients to Avoid
- Modified wheat starch: Modified wheat starch is simply wheat starch that has been modified for specific uses.
- Graham flour: Graham flour is coarsely ground flour. It changes the flavour of your baked goods when used in place of regular flour, imparting a dense and hearty texture.
- Food starch: Diets high in refined starches are linked to a higher risk of diabetes, heart disease and weight gain.
- Natural and artificial flavours: Both natural and artificial flavours are synthesized in laboratories, but artificial flavours come from petroleum and other inedible substances, while “natural flavour” can refer to anything that comes from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice.
- Hydrolyzed wheat protein: After hydrolysis, one of the amino acids left is glutamic acid.
- Malt: Some disadvantages of malt are blockage of the esophagus, inflammation of the skin due to an allergy and stool blockage of the intestine.
- Spelt: Spelt is a form of wheat, and can therefore cause problems for individuals with wheat allergies.
- Food colouring: They may cause allergic reactions in some people and hyperactivity in sensitive children.
- Brewer’s yeast: The most common side effects are excess gas, bloating, and migraine-like headaches.
- Whey protein is a byproduct of cheese making.
- The water is then processed and made in powder form and digestive enzymes are added so that it gets digested easily.
- Whey protein powder is made from milk and does not contain gluten.
- All whey protein powder has one ingredient common in them which is whey.
- Finally, whey protein powders are mostly sold in three forms: whey protein isolate, concentrate and hydrolyzed.
Frequently Asked Questions
Q1. What protein powders are gluten-free?
Optimum Nutrition – Gold Standard Whey
Isopure – Gluten-Free, Zero-Carb Whey Protein Isolate
Isopure Infusions – Light, Fruity Whey Protein Isolate
Q2. Is whey considered dairy?
Whey is found in dairy and is one of the two major high-quality proteins found naturally in cow’s milk. Whey protein comes from the cheesemaking process. When special enzymes are added to the milk, it separates into curds and liquid whey.
Q3. Can too much protein cause inflammation?
Other than fullness, your body may not give off any immediate signals that you’ve eaten too much protein. Long-term, however, too much protein, especially from animal sources, can increase inflammation in your body and wreak havoc with your health.